On Sunday 9th April twenty nine members and one guest enjoyed a 7.5 mile walk from the picturesque town of Burford. Setting off towards Fulbrook they passed Meadow End and turned right over a stile across fields to a lane. Reaching Widley Copse they stopped for coffee before continuing on past Paynes Farm.
Continuing over fields they eventually took the path near the River Windrush to reach the Swan Inn at Swinbrook. Turning right they took the lane through Swinbrook to St Mary’s Church for lunch. St Mary’s church dates from about 1200 and its unusual open sided bell tower was added in 1822. The church is noted for 17th Century Fettiplace monuments. David Freeman-Mitford 2nd, Baron Redesdale, had nearby Swinbrook House built for his family and four of his six daughters (novelist Nancy Mitford, Unity, Diana and Pamela) are buried in the village churchyard, as is Oswald Mosley, Diana’s husband.
Leaving the churchyard, they took the path to St Oswald’s Church at Widford. It was built in 12th and 13th Centuries for a settlement which has long disappeared, leaving only a footpath alongside the river to access it. It is noted for its many wall paintings.
After a short walk the group arrived back to a very busy Burford. This was Andy’s first walk for the group and he did an excellent job!
Walking behind Fulbrook Church
Some of the views on the walk
Fettiplaces and Mitfords at Swinbrook Church
The Group at St Oswald's Church Widford
Returning to Burford by the River Windrush